My first jelly roll quilt

20130622-154059.jpg

My apologies for the lack of updates, folks! This week has been a very busy week! Above you’ll see some posters I put up in my craft room for more colour. 😉 They came from a poster book pack I got from a friend.

While perusing the many blogs I read, I came across this lovely post about the Heirloom Creations regarding a jellyroll quilt. Fascinating! I went ahead & grabbed the leftover jellyroll pieces from making my beau’s dice bag & went to work! In less than an hour, this is what I had!!

20130622-155330.jpg

20130622-155418.jpg

Since I had used some of the jellyroll for other projects, I ended up having to cut up some cloth pieces to make strips that coordinated with the roll, but it still look great all together!!

20130622-155717.jpg

Now I just need to figure out what to use for the back…! My darling loves fuzzy blankets most, & I discovered that I had some faux fur left over …

20130622-160020.jpg

…but alas! Although it matches quite well, there is not enough to use for the back. Now I’m trying to figure out what to do. 😦

Another problem I have is that this is my very first quilt I’ve ever made, so now I’ll need to make sure I bind the edges perfectly!! Eee!

Does anyone have any suggestions on these issues?

Cheers!!
–EL

2 thoughts on “My first jelly roll quilt

  1. I love love love jelly roll quilts! So quick and easy 🙂 I haven’t taken the time to do one yet, even though I have a jelly roll pack. I’ll get to it. Your first quilt is so exciting. For binding, I suggest the following resources:

    Click to access HB_QuiltBinding.pdf

    http://www.mccallsquilting.com/mccallsquilting/articles/Quilt_Binding___Joining_the_Strips
    http://www.incolororder.com/2011/07/warm-cool-quilt-along-binding.html

    I may have gone a little overboard with the resources, but I’ve gotten better and better by using a little from each of the videos and websites. Good luck and I can’t wait to see the finished product!!

    • Oh my goodness!! Sevi, you are the best!! Thank you sooo so much for those resources!! We ended up wanting the quilt to be way bigger, but we couldn’t find a jelly roll like the first one, so we got one with purples &c…. It looks interesting, I hope it works out alright. I’ll be sure to post the completed one! The top for the quilt is sooooo easy using the continuous-sewing method. For reals, took me just a few episodes of Oddities, so…an hour tops? You should definitely give it a whirl!

Leave a comment